At the border between Fauquier and Prince William Counties, the Chapman / Beverley Mill cuts an imposing figure against its wooded backdrop. The massive five and one half story structure, originally built in 1742, is thought to be the tallest stacked stone building in the United States. The mill supplied food through five wars, but was gutted by fire in 1998. Today, though the arson left the structure a ruin, the stabilized mill walls and the mill store still stand as a reminder of the history of milling in Northern Virginia.
Hours of Operation
The Chapman / Beverley Mill is open to the public Saturdays and Sundays 9am to 5pm. Be sure to visit us soon!